The term cereal comes from the Latin cereālis and allows us to name the grass plants that bear farinaceous fruits. Also known as cereals are these same fruits, the set of the seeds of these plants and foods made from these seeds.
In the structure of the cereal you can recognize the germ (which appears in the nucleus of the seed and allows the development of a new plant), the endosperm (a starchy or mealy structure that surrounds the germ), the testa (the outer layer that covers the grain) and the peel (another layer, which covers the testa and protects it).
According to DigoPaul, cereals contain starch, lipids, cellulose, gluten, and various proteins. All these components are basic in human nutrition. On the other hand, from cereals such as corn, for example, it is possible to make oils and resins.
The main species of cereals are corn, wheat, oats, rice, rye, barley, sorghum and millet, among others. According to the treatment given to these cereals, different types of food can be obtained.
Since ancient times the existence of cereals has been known, which today are part of our diet. Thus, for example, in the case of Spain, rice has become an essential food since it is not only eaten as soup or in salad but also as a fundamental ingredient to carry out one of the typical dishes of the country’s gastronomy: Paella.
It should also be noted that in China rice is also an essential cereal in their diet.
In the case of rye and wheat, it should be noted that they are two cereals that are also known by the name of bread-making. A qualification that is used to make it clear that both can and are used to make bread and all kinds of bakery products.
Among the most prominent elements that are part of cereals, it should be noted, for example, gluten, which is very present both in the two mentioned cereals and in barley. An element that is not accepted by the body of all people, so there are individuals who are celiac, which means that they cannot consume any type of food that carries it. In this case, the usual thing is that they substitute those mentioned for corn or rice, among others.
The flour, for example, is a fine powder obtained from ground cereal. The bran, for its part, is the result of another part of the grinding of the cereal grains.
Finally, it should be noted that certain foods that are intended for breakfast are known by the name of cereals and that they are usually recommended to be ingested by children. These are not natural cereals, but they have additions such as sugar and salt.
In the same way, we must not forget that when we refer to cereals we are talking about everything relative or belonging to the goddess of Roman mythology Ceres who was the one who served as the deity of the land and agriculture.